2015 Dan Cullen Trophy – Results

Anyone who was paying attention to the weather on the morning of Monday 30 March 2015 would have been forgiven for having flashbacks to the 2014 Dan Cullen when a more than generous downpour resulted in the event being called off.

However, the skies mercifully cleared, and 21 players arrived at a Long Reef course that was looking – and playing – at its best. There were two first timers in serious hickory competition – Warwick Stanwell and Alan McDonald.

For the par 43 over 11 holes, there were some reasonable scratch scores: Rod Clarke benefited from the local knowledge in the pair when he and Les Browne recorded a 43, which included birdies on both the par threes on the first nine; Dennis Sundin and Neville Ryder returned a 45; while the pairings of Tony Mountstephens and Des Froneman and Michael Sheret and Tom Winter came in with 46 apiece.

But . . . . the Dan Cullen is not about scratch scores, and the winners were Dennis Sundin and Neville Ryder from the Cromer Club with a net score of 38.4. Runners-up were Les Browne and Rod Clarke with 40.2, while Tony Mountstephens and Des Froneman filled the third step on the podium with 40.7.

Full Scores

Two Ball Gross Handicap Net
Dennis Sundin & Neville Ryder 45 6.6 38.4
Les Browne & Rod Clarke 43 2.8 40.2
Tony Mounstephens & Des Froneman 46 5.3 40.7
Alan McDonald & Steve Doorey 47 5.5 41.5
Tony Pickrell & Martin Pickrell 48 6.0 42.0
Micheal Sheret & Tom Winter 46 3.7 42.3
Tom Moore & Geoff Martin 48 5.3 42.7
Paul Gladwin & Warwick Stanwell 48 3.0 45.0
Ross Howard & Henry Paterson 52 6.8 45.2
Bruno Pase & Stephen Fletcher 52 4.7 47.3
Winner Dennis Sundin (left) accepts the Dan Cullen Trophy from Alan McDonald

A hearty thanks to Les Browne and the Long Reef Club for organising and hosting the event, and further thanks to all those who participated. It’s probably a bit early to mark your diaries for next year, but keep the event in mind when planning your early 2016!

History of the Dan Cullen Trophy